Carry Less Baggage By Avoiding Regrets

Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering…by Yoda! We don’t need this baggage!

Occasionally, I cannot make up my mind for a decision. When I was younger, I was often undecided. As I grew older, I had guidelines to make my choices. Similar to most women, I enjoy shopping. Often my choice to buy something is based on price, necessity and style. Currently, I prefer style that will endure time. Also I prefer real fabric versus synthetic. Therefore, my decision process is easier when I have a set of rules to guide me.

In Romans 7, the Jews lived by the letter of the Law. Hence, the Law guided them in what everything they did. However, the Jews might follow the Law without their heart following God. Thus, the Law guided them in how to live life.

In Romans 7:1-3, Paul mentions the Law, naturally, applies to a Jew as long as he lives. Likewise, Paul mentions the analogy of a married woman bound to her husband until he dies. If the husband dies, she is free to marry another man. But if she goes off with another man while married, she is an adulteress.

As a Christian, we died to the law through the Body of Christ. Now, we belong to Christ. Since Christ died and rose from the dead to forgive us of our sins, we are released from the law. Instead, we can bear fruit for God in our actions. Just as a wife is free from marriage after the husband dies, we are free from the Law by Christ’s sacrifice.

For while we were living in the flesh, our sinful passions, aroused by the law, were at work in our members to bear fruit for death. Romans 7:5

Also, the law points out our natural sinful passions. No one has to be taught how to do something bad. Ultimately, all mankind is selfish. Thus, humans tend to think about ourselves first over other people. The law points out our sinful behavior.

What then shall we say? That the law is sin? By no means! Yet if it had not been for the law, I would not have known sin. For I would not have known what it is to covet if the law had not said, “You shall not covet.”  But sin, seizing an opportunity through the commandment, produced in me all kinds of covetousness. For apart from the law, sin lies dead. Romans 7:7-8

Moreover, the Law declares we should not covet. Since we are selfish, we covet things that we see in the media or that other people have. How often do we ponder about what material items we want or activities we do for entertainment or fun? In Romans 7:11, Paul mentions sin deceives us and can kill us.

When we were children, parents often caution to stay away from the stove due to the flame and heat. Often our curiosity and precocious behavior causes us to disobey. Similarly, the warnings from the Law tempted Paul to want to covet and sin. Therefore the law proved to be death to Paul by tempting him to sin. Nevertheless, Paul proclaims the Law is good and holy.

Did that which is good, then, bring death to me? By no means! It was sin, producing death in me through what is good, in order that sin might be shown to be sin, and through the commandment might become sinful beyond measure. For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. Romans 7:13-14

Moreover, sin produced death in Paul. Hence, bad behavior is bad for us. Sin effects us emotionally, physically and mentally. Also sin spreads and leads to more sin. If we watch soap operas or other entertainment series, often, the characters’ sins and schemes lead to more trouble and problems.

Unfortunately, our human flesh is weak, and man is born with the natural tendency to sin. Paul regrets his sin. When we accumulate regrets of sin, this sin weighs us down. Thus, Paul recognizes sin dwells inside.

So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.  For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out.  For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Romans 7:17-19

Therefore, we all face this dilemma like Paul. Ultimately, we want to do what is right, but we end up failing. So, we want to do good but end up doing the opposite.

In Romans 7:23, Paul sees there is an internal war between his mind and the Law. Additionally, Paul felt so conflicted. Then, he recognizes that Jesus Christ can give us the victory over this internal conflict.

What is the solution to our internal conflict to want to do good, but instead, we do bad?

Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin. Romans 7:25

The answer is to serve the Law of God with our minds! Instead of giving in to our natural tendencies with our weak flesh and sin, we need to lean on Jesus and focus our minds on His Word and Will.

A wandering mind leads to trouble. Find ways to ponder God’s Word and Ways and keep talking to God to do good and avoid the baggage of regrets and sins.

Pray about a way you can show God and teach about who He is! Avoid accumulating the baggage of sin and feel the freedom in Christ. This 5th grader seeks to obtain a prayer group in her school.

Find your call from God to focus on doing Good!

Leave a comment